European Weekend Testing 24 July 2010


I participated in my second European Weekend Testing session yesterday (Saturday 24 July 2010, EWT 28) where we were looking at teamwork – in particular working in a paired testing scenario – using the Fantastic Contraption game (http://www.fantasticcontraption.net/) as the System Under Test.

For me the session highlighted how useful it is to be able to discuss strategies, techniques and approaches with others and is something I will take into work with me tomorrow morning.  During the discussion afterwards – the most valuable part for me at least – it became apparent that even though many of us do not pair formally with other testers and/or developers, we do on an informal basis and still derive much benefit from the exercise.

Although I did not get very far with the actual game, I still found the experience of working with other testers enjoyable.  I would encourage others – especially if you are the sole ‘tester’ in your organisation – to consider getting involved with Weekend Testing.  If nothing else it helps us learn from and encourage other craftspeople whilst sharing knowledge and experience for the good of the community.

Many thanks to Markus and Anna for facilitating the session and to the other testers who joined us from around the world for a great learning experience.  Commitments permitting, I hope to join you next week.

One Response to “European Weekend Testing 24 July 2010”

  1. Tweets that mention European Weekend Testing 24 July 2010 « Stephen Hill's Blog -- Topsy.com Says:

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Markus Gärtner, Stephen Hill. Stephen Hill said: European Weekend Testing 24 July 2010: write up of my experience at EWT 28. http://wp.me/pRZ0L-E […]

Leave a Reply

